Sometimes you feel like a nut….

by bakelikeacook

Chocolate Covered Honey Roasted Peanuts

Chocolate Covered Honey Roasted Peanuts with Smoked Salt

See the Deliciousness??

See the Deliciousness??

Whenever I am working with melted chocolate, there is always some leftover.  And, for some unknown reason, I hate to have any leftover chocolate!  I want to use every last drop.  Now the proper thing to do would be to pour it out onto a parchment lined tray to allow it to set up and chop it up for the next time I use it.  Personally, if I have just a small amount left, its time to make a snack!!  Usually I find whatever is laying around the house and make clusters of some sort.  Today, as I was making molded chocolates, the whole leftover thing happened again.  Luckily, I had some honey roasted peanuts and smoked sea salt.  SO are you ready for today’s recipe??

1) leftover melted chocolate (I am using a 61% dark chocolate)

2) honey roasted peanuts

3) salt to sprinkle on top.  I used a a smoked sea salt but a flaky salt like Maldon or a nice fleur de sel will do as well

Now, there are MANY other options here.  I have used almonds (smokehouse are delicious!!), Rice Krispies (where can you go wrong there?), cornflakes (again, where is the wrong??), crushed cookies, potato chips, bacon bits and toffee (yea–I said it!)…the list is virtually endless!!  Once you toss the crunch maker of your liking into the chocolate, stir it until coated.  Not enough?  Add more.  But don’t go too crazy!  Unless you want to melt some more chocolate…

Spoon the clusters into small mounds onto a parchment lined/silpat lined sheet pan.  Once the chocolate is starting to just set–finish them with the salt of your choice or whatever you want to sprinkle on top (sesame seeds are delicious too!).  If you sprinkle when the chocolate is still too wet, it can become absorbed into the cluster.  So if you want  to see the finishing salt on top, wait a minute to sprinkle.  They make a terrific gift as well–if you can resist the urge to eat them all!!!

In the name of chocolate and “Peanuts”… Charles Schulz said : “All you need is love.  But a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt.”  I love that man….

Chocolate Molds

Chocolate Molds

